History of the School
Mrs Goodricke started an “Establishment for board and education” of young ladies at Suffolk House.
Suffolk House was still in use as a school, now run by Mrs Leo. There had been several other owners.
Mynd House in Barton Street was rented, adapted and refurbished. Miss Hickey was appointed on 1st May 1883 to the post of Headmistress of the new Girls’ Lower School.
On 3rd March, the Girls’ Lower School was re-named the Girls’ Endowed School.
The Girls’ Endowed School moved from Mynd House to Bearland House, Longsmith Street.
The Girls’ Endowed School was re-named Gloucester Girls’ High School. It became a grant-aided school.
Governors established Gloucester United Schools. (The Crypt, Sir Thomas Richs’, the Girls’ High School and the Municipal School for Science, Art and Technology)
On 14th January, the new building of the Girls’ High School opened in Denmark Road.
In August, Miss Barwell retired.
In September, Miss Carless was appointed Headmistress.
First issue of Gloucester High School Magazine.
In March, Miss Carless left.
In April, Miss Penson was appointed Headmistress.
Gloucester Girls’ High School Parents’ Association was founded.
The School’s 50th Jubilee.
In August, Miss Penson died. Miss Green became Acting Headmistress.
In January, Dr White was appointed Headmistress.
The Butler Education Act (in force from April 1945). Secondary education for all.
The school became a maintained grammar school, with three forms of entry. Junior school was phased out.
In December, Dr White retired.
In January, Miss Jewsbury was appointed as Headmistress.
In December, Miss Jewsbury retired.
In January, Miss Castle was appointed Headmistress.
Re-organisation of Local Government.
The school came under Gloucestershire County Education Authority and became a Community School.
Miss Castle moved to become Headmistress of Cheltenham Ladies’ College.
Centenary Celebrations – Princess Anne visited the school.
Miss Miles was appointed Headmistress.
Miss Miles retired.
Mrs Bainbridge was appointed Headmistress.
The school moved to four forms of entry. Modernisation of the curriculum. Introduction of the Faculty structure.
Threat to closure of grammar schools.
In August, Mrs Bainbridge retired.
Mrs Sawicka was appointed as Headteacher in April 2006, but because of having to give a whole term’s notice in her current job could not take up her headship until January 2007. Between September – December 2006, Mr Willis was Acting Headteacher (Deputy Head under Mrs Bainbridge).
In January, Mrs Sawicka took up her post.
In September, introduction of the DEAL (Discover, Explore and Learn), the new bespoke Year 7 curriculum.
In January, the School celebrated 100 years on Denmark Road.
A Centenary Concert was held in Gloucester Cathedral.
In April, the School became a Foundation School.
In April, the School became an Academy and a charity.
Refurbishment of Food Technology room.
Students in Year 11, the first cohort through the school of students, who have been through the DEAL curriculum.
Capital Fundraising committee established.
Refurbishment of Art studio and creation of bespoke Sixth Form Art Studio.
Former Heads, Parents, Governors and Staff have pledged £430,000 for extension to dining room and new Drama studio over 5 years.
The new Performing Arts Block was completed in October and officially opened on Friday, 20th November 2015.
Redesign of new Art Textiles facilities.
New Psychology, Government and Politics and Sociology rooms, predominantly for Sixth Form teaching.